FEMA extends severe-storm assistance deadline in Kentucky


Flooding near Grayson in Carter County, Kentucky. March 1, 2021. (Photo Credit: WOWK 13 News Photojournalist Christopher Holtzapfel)

FRANKFORT, Ky. (WOWK) — The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has extended the deadline for severe-storm survivors in Kentucky to register for help to July 23. 

Kentucky Governor Andy Beshear made the request to FEMA to allow any homeowners and renters affected by severe flooding earlier this year to register for assistance. 

Residents of the 31 counties eligible for FEMA assistance: 

  • Anderson
  • Breathitt
  • Boyd
  • Clark
  • Clay
  • Estill
  • Fayette
  • Floyd
  • Franklin
  • Greenup
  • Jackson
  • Jessamine
  • Johnson
  • Knott
  • Laurel
  • Lawrence
  • Lee
  • Leslie
  • Letcher
  • Lincoln
  • Madison
  • Magoffin
  • Martin
  • Morgan
  • Owsley
  • Perry
  • Powell
  • Pulaski
  • Rockcastle
  • Warren
  • Woodford

FEMA’s Individual Assistance can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses that are not met by insurance or other assistance programs.

Anyone seeking FEMA assistance should have the following information available to register:

  • Address of the damaged primary dwelling where the damage occurred
  • Current mailing address
  • Current telephone number
  • Social Security number
  • Your insurance information
  • Total household annual income
  • Routing and account numbers for checking or savings accounts so FEMA may directly transfer disaster assistance funds, and
  • A general description of disaster damage and losses.

Anyone who needs assistance can register on the Disaster Assistance website, download the FEMA app on a smartphone or tablet, or call 800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585). 

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Latest News

More News